PDA

View Full Version : WIP - Ft. Worth Alliance

thetford569
March 19th, 2012, 07:30
Hey everyone! This is still a work in progress and there is lots of work to be done but I thought I would show off a few shots of the custom buildings I am working on for Ft. Worth Alliance Airport (KAFW). I've already been working on this for a few months (in my spare time which is VERY limited) and I am happy so far with the results. I have never done any 3d modeling before so I'm pretty happy that things have turned out looking fairly good. I know this is probably not the quality of someone who has spent years as a developer but I am pretty impressed with the ease of using Google Sketchup to make models for FSX. The buildings are using photo textures which were all taken from outside the airport. I had to use some serious photoshop editing to make some sides of the buildings that I had no photos for and I'm pretty happy with the results...I now have an intimate relationship with the clone tool!

Anyway I thought I'd post a few shots even though this is far from finished and I'd love to hear any comments. This will be a freeware project and it is far from finished and will probably still take at least a few more months with the amount of time that I have to work on it...I haven't actually flown FSX in over 3 months now. I'll try to post more updates here as I get farther along. The modeling only becomes more difficult...I started with the easier buildings! Thanks for looking and I hope you enjoy!

Brandon Thetford

Southwest Cargo Ramp

Airport Overview with Aerial Photo background

Night Textures Sample...

DEA Hangar and Preregrine Point Hangars

Bell Helicopter Military Center and back of the DEA Hangar

Felixthreeone
March 19th, 2012, 08:58
Looking good!!

jdhaenens
March 19th, 2012, 14:17
Looking good Brandon. The tower should be interesting....:jump:

Jim

falcon409
March 19th, 2012, 17:26
Jim