PDA

View Full Version : FSX - flying these helicopters

roger-wilco-66
February 24th, 2012, 01:19
Not without being ashamed I must confess that I never got the hang of it - flying helos in FSX. I'm having massive problems with the control inputs and expecially cyclic inputs send me gyrating wildly into directions I never had in mind.
I'm a RC helicopter driver though, not an overly good one, but I have all types of helos from co-axial to bell-hiller type rotorheads and build a 450 size OH-6 now with a flybarless fixed 4 blade rotor head, so I think I understand at least the basics of it.
So how do you guys fly them? Is it possible to have a separate input axis for the collective pitch? Simulated gyro to counter the main rotor torque effect? Is there anything that can be tweaked so controlling helos is a bit easier?
Maybe also my controllers are a bit over sensitive. Anyhow, I'd like to give it another try, there are so many nice helicopters out there.

TIA,
Mark

CHBTheDoctor
February 24th, 2012, 03:44
- Framerate: Helos in FSX are uncontrollable if framerate drops below 20fps. 30fps or more is recommended. It's simply the feedback loop, cause your only clue is the movement of the graphics because helos are "squishy" and in fact you have to be ahead while not oversteering.

- 3D Display: Stereo with airplanes is nice, stereo with helos is a different world. My best landings with a helo in FSX without 3D are bumpy, so to say, the worse ones...:censored: With stereo landing on a helipat is plain easy, you SEE where to go.

Both tips are not easy to achive, I know, but at least you can try to lower graphics to get higher framerates, just to try if my framerate tip works for you.

hae5904
February 24th, 2012, 03:44
Mark,

Here's a link to typical set up set by Jordan of Hovercontrol. : http://www.hovercontrol.com/cgi-bin/ib3/ikonboard.cgi?;act=ST;f=8;t=1790