PDA

View Full Version : New at modelling ships!

Cees Donker
February 13th, 2012, 02:38
Hi guys,

I'm new at ship modelling. I started because I want some Dutch ships in my rendition of Holland May 1940. I'm modelling in FSDS 3.51. Here's what I've got so far. My first question: how do you model the railing? Thanks in advance for any help!

:salute:

Cees

Collin
February 13th, 2012, 12:06
What sim are you modelling for?

Collin:ernae:

Cees Donker
February 13th, 2012, 12:57
Hi Collin,

FS2004.....

:salute:

Cees

Cees Donker
February 14th, 2012, 23:18
My problem is now: I can make lines in FSDS 2.2.4, but I can't do that in FSDS 3.5.1. The last version doesn't export these lines to the sim (I can't see them!). The first version doesn't let me make a scenery mdl.

:isadizzy:

Cees

Collin
February 15th, 2012, 16:00
Dunno which way you have been trying but have you tried this....

measurements are in feet.

create a tube with 3 sides .2' diameter 4' long in axis Y. Place this near the bow and make a copy and place this about 15' astern of the first, now continue to do this along the deck edge on one side all the way to the hull break or the stern, make sure they are accurately placed.
Save model.
Create new folder entitled Misc Parts.
Create new model file and paste into it the a single upright you have just made, save as "railings".

Go back to your original model and make all the uprights joined into 1 part. Save!!

Now, make a tube .1' diameter 3 sided along Z axis which goes from bow to stern ( the bow end should jut out further then the bow by a few feet and the stern should end at the tip of the stern).
Save. [Copy this and paste into the new misc file "railings", save, and go back to the original model.]