PDA

View Full Version : Some help will be required

AussieMan
November 17th, 2011, 16:09
Over the years I have tried my hand at doing aircraft repaints. So far I have done 2 that have been good enough to put up on the internet. Now that I have the full set of the WBS P-51s I have decided to bite the bullet and try to make a contribution to a hobby that has given me so much over the last 27 years.

I have the paintkit for the WBS Little Friends II and after a couple of hiccups I am now downloading the aircraft file.

Now comes the request for help. I have NEVER worked with layers before. I belong to the Simmers Paint Shop forum but their tutorials deal with creating layers no dealing with kits that are already layered.

What I need to know is what needs to be done to get to the layer that I would put my base colours on before doing the rivets and other layers.

All help will be much appreciated.

Tako_Kichi
November 17th, 2011, 16:17
Knowing which painting program you are using will help. :icon_lol:

Think of the layers like a stack of acetate sheets that you can shuffle around. Some things on 'higher' sheets will hide things on lower sheets.

Generally the wireframe layout (if available) is on the lowest layer followed usually by the main paint layer(s) on the next highest level(s). Rivets and panel lines go on layers above that with the dirt layer as the highest of all.

When I work on a paint I also group layers into 'folders' (a feature available in later versions of Photoshop but I don't know if that is available in every paint program), this allows me to turn on/off all lines, rivets or dirt layers with a single click.

AussieMan
November 17th, 2011, 16:48
My apologies Larry, I have Paint Shop Pro X and 5 as well as Photoshop CS3 and Gimp 2.6.

While I am happy to learn how to use the other properly I feel most comfortable with Paint Shop Pro as I have been using various versions of that programme for many years now.