PDA

View Full Version : Self cleaning ovens

PRB
September 9th, 2011, 05:33
I've been around a couple of years, but I've never had a “self-cleaning” oven. I'd heard of them, and will admit to feelings of dubiousness at the claim (can we get self-cleaning garages, please?) So I tried it. I was concerned though. I knew that the whole “self-cleaning” process involved the application of high heat, and I also knew the inside of the oven had grease and stuff in it. I'm no oven expert, but I know that if you apply high heat to grease you get what's called a “Class Bravo” fire... So I did what everyone does in situations like this, I consulted Google. Sure enough, Google said I had to do some “pre-cleaning” and remove any “standing oil slicks” and such before engaging self-clean mode. I knew it! “Self-clean” my butt! So after prep, and removing the racks, I hit the button and stood by with fire extinguishers, had repair parties standing by, and set condition zebra main deck and below. After four hours, I peeked in, and was overcome with amazement. It was clean! Where did the grease go? I thought I would have to sweep out the charred remains of whatever was in there at the least, but no, it was sparkling clean like new! It's PFM! That stands for “Pure **** Magic” I was like a dog watching TV, as Willy would say. It must have got vaporized and discharged into the house. Hmm...

bobmay
September 9th, 2011, 05:46
You're right about the grease being distributed around the house Paul.
You need a cooker hood with good filters, or an external exhaust pipe to take the fumes outside, to properly benefit from a 'self cleaning' oven.

Emil Frand
September 9th, 2011, 08:45
Self Cleaning oven means you clean it yourself...............

Navy Chief
September 9th, 2011, 16:20