PDA

View Full Version : Gmax Help For a Newbie?

Walter
June 27th, 2011, 17:42
Hi, all! :wavey:

I have finally gotten a ton of time to do nothing, and was thinking about making some planes for FSX. Does anybody know of some good tutorials for this sort of thing? I have very little knowledge of computers.

Thank you all for your help! :jump:

Walter

N2056
June 27th, 2011, 17:46
Here's a very good one...From Milton Shupe :salute:
http://www.flightsimonline.com/C162/

mmann
June 27th, 2011, 17:50
Hi Walter, how much experience do you have with Gmax? If you are just starting out, I would highly recommend starting with scenery objects and getting the basics down first before tackling an aircraft model! As for tutorials I would recommend heading over to FSDeveloper (http://www.fsdeveloper.com/).

Regards, Mike Mann

Walter
June 27th, 2011, 18:14
Wow! Thanks, guys! I got dinner and came back, and there was two responses! Talk about fast! Yes I am very new to gmax, but I'm willing to give it a spin! :applause:

Thank you,

Walter

Vitus
June 27th, 2011, 20:10
Hi Walter,

I second the two suggestions. Milton Shupes tutorial is the best and most complete you can get. It covers 3D design, mapping, texturing and even touches on instrument implementation.
fsdeveloper.com is probably the best community out there for fs design and you'll get help from the best designers of the scene there. And if you don't find your solution there, you probably get directions.

I don't think that you should start with scenery design though. True, it's mush easier to construct and map a house than creating the complex shape of an aircraft. But if you want to build an aircraft, build an aircraft! :kilroy:
But be aware: the learning curve is steep and you WILL be frustrated at times. But if you stick to it it can be very awarding as well. Start small, keep it simple.

Cheers,
Vitus

Mathias
June 27th, 2011, 23:47