PDA

View Full Version : Need Your Help With Carrier Work

dougal
May 13th, 2011, 12:44
Hi Guys

Gonna throw myself completely at your mercy here... I need MUCHO help & advice regarding carriers in FSX Acelleration. I've decided it's time to try something new in FSX as it feels a little stale just now.

So, being as I have some great addons, I thought carriers might just be the answer.

Although I've been simming for nearly 10 years, I've never seriously tried my hand with carriers and jets.

I just tried a number of landings and COMPLETELY botched them all!

Basically, I'm looking for ALL & ANY advice you guys can give, no matter how simplistic you think it might be. Anything and everything, from approach speeds and AoD, to the best aircraft to use for practice.

I have AI Carriers installed and Javier's wonderful Nimitz. I also have Dino's Goshawk & F14. I have the new Wilco Harrier and one or two other jet fighters etc.

I also have the stunning VRS F/A-18 Superbug, but so far can only just about fly the thing.

Gimmi data, gimmi data, gimmi info.......please:jump:

Stefano Zibell
May 13th, 2011, 13:26
Speed depends on the weight. The correct AoA is indicated by the ember light on the left side of your HUD. You also need to keep an eye on "the ball", the tutorial in fsx should teach you that. You also and absolutely need to read the manuals, as different aircraft require different landing configurations, such as airbrakes deployed or canopy open. If you are still overweight you can either dump fuel or completely ignore the ball, fly a longer descent and risk a cable snap (wich will never happen in FSX).

mjrhealth
May 13th, 2011, 13:27