PDA

View Full Version : refelctive texture question

Hooky722
April 12th, 2011, 06:32
Hi all

just a quick one today:

Is it possible to make transparent canopy glass reflective if it wasn't in the first place I'm referring specifically to the ALPHA S.2 bucc has anybody ever tried this can it be done?

Regards

Hooky:salute:

AndyG43
April 12th, 2011, 07:28
I'm not an expert, and not near my home PC at the moment, but would Mdlmat do the trick here?

OBIO
April 12th, 2011, 08:06
MDLmat will not do the trick. Depending on how the material for the glass is assigned, it may be possible to make the canopy reflective and it may not be possible to make it reflective. And it may take some serious MDL editing using SCASM code extraction, modification and reinsertion...a process that is beyond my scope of ability. Today, at some point, I will take a look at the Bucc and see how the canopy glass is handled.

OBIO

Desert Rat
April 12th, 2011, 11:15
It depends if the canopy is textured or just a pure material? If textured, yes (with the odd exception due to texture sheet sharing). quite easily really.

If the canopy is not textured it can sometimes be done with SCASM editing, this is not anywhere near as easy, but it can be done ;) did I mention sometimes?

Jamie

PS. I don't have it installed to check at the moment, in fact I have nothing but the default installed after a rebuild and a distraction into painting a Comet or two.

Desert Rat
April 12th, 2011, 11:18
An easy way to spot if the glass is textured (it may not be as obvious as to have a glass_t.bmp as it may share a texture sheet. Load up the plane in ACM, solid 3D model and turn the textures on/off and note if the appearance of the glass changes (shade, etc) if it does it's definitely textured, now just track down where, lol. Sometimes it's subtle, so zoom in quite close.

Jamie

OBIO
April 12th, 2011, 15:33