PDA

View Full Version : What am I missing with X-Plane?

Quixoticish
April 11th, 2011, 01:21
After getting thoroughly sick and tired with MS FS and the constant need to be buying addons and tweaking the damn thing I've decided to have a go at X-Plane.

I've installed the latest demo off the website and I've got to say I'm not impressed. The aircraft models for the most part look quite rough, the cockpits even more so, and the flight dynamics on some of the aircraft included in the demo are absolutely awful. The only thing it seems to have over FSX is that the scenery is much more lush and consistent.

I've come to the conclusion I must be missing something, either in the way I've set X-Plane up or in what I'm using. For a complete newbie to X-Plane where should I look and what should I do to get the most out of it?

flyinjake
April 11th, 2011, 02:21
Quix,

Might want to wait for Xplane 10 before making the jump. I hear it will be considerably better than 9 but might not be as good as FSX when it comes to visual quality. I believe it will become better overall as more companies start making add ons for Xplane.

Unfortunately our hobby seems to pivot around add ons.

Jake

txnetcop
April 12th, 2011, 15:21
I agree I think X-Plane 10 is going to give you more of what you are looking for, but be aware it is now an add on world even in X-Plane to get what you really want. It also requires more computer to really see the eye-candy.
Ted

Devildog73
April 7th, 2012, 04:12
I agree I think X-Plane 10 is going to give you more of what you are looking for, but be aware it is now an add on world even in X-Plane to get what you really want. It also requires more computer to really see the eye-candy.
Ted

MUCH more computer!

I am running a 2.4GB CPU dou core2, 1 GB Vid Card (non-shared), 6GB of RAM on WIN7X64. The aircraft are rough from the outside. The scenery is great except at the airports.