PDA

View Full Version : How about some simple instructions for tweaking aircraft.cfg files?

Sid2008
January 28th, 2011, 10:09
A few days ago hairyspin (I thnik0 gave me a massive hint: play with the moments of inertia to get my aircraft to stop bobbing up and down while parked.

This hint did the charm and i thank him for it.

This got me wondering if you design gurus like Milton and others could write just a few simple workds in what parameters to change in an aircraft.cfg file to make the plane to be "quick" vs lethargic, and so on.

Please keep it simple for dummies like me.
thanks,
Sid

Milton Shupe
January 28th, 2011, 15:56
Tweaking the aircraft.cfg is easy of course, but let's put it into perspective. Then I will point you to an aircraft.cfg line by line explanation, that is the Aircraft Container SDK, and Ron Freimuth's line-by-line explanation he did back before SDK's were made available (good tweaking notes there).

First, let me say that I am not an aeronautics engineer, nor an expert of flight modeling. I do use the tools to create flight models and know a little about FS flight model relationships. After 9 years exposure, I still rely on information posted by the late Ron Freimuth, Ian, Herve Sors, Jerry Beckwith, Tom Falley and others who really specialize in the inner workings. With that said, I offer what little I can here from a user perspective. I hope that if I state anything wrong that one of the aforementioned gentlemen will correct it.

The .air file contains the necessary data to drive the flight sim's flight dynamics engine to respond the way your model should in the real world if defined correctly. Since that same FD engine must simulate a 747, a Cessna, an ATR500, and a hang glider, the .air file defines the attributes to the FD engine so proper responses to input can be made.