PDA

View Full Version : Hello again

Brainless
January 19th, 2011, 10:00
Hi guys

Just dropped by to say hello again. I haven’t been around for some considerable time due to so many RL commitments and no play time!!

Anyway I have had some really bad system experiences with my new (well new two years ago now) computer crashing on New Year’s day 2010 and again on Xmas Eve 2011. Makes you wonder if there is some inbuilt failure lurking in the wiring. I wiped everything having backed up the entire works and re-loaded XP from scratch but it still took me a fortnight to reload all the sims even with the backups. I couldn’t get CFS3 to run at first but I think I’ve got ETO 1.31a going now. Had some CTDs with the simply wonderful Sunderland from Beau Brummies site and then realized there were no weapons as Tk_gb_depthcharges were missing and I couldn’t find these anywhere so amended the config to load the AvHistory ones. A shame that site is no longer going as they had some great stuff but I guess things move on.

Anyway I noticed there is now ETO 1.4 and wondered how this is different from ETO 1.3. Can someone give me some pointers on that? I haven’t loaded it yet as I don’t know if it will run with the Firepower add-ons and SU aircraft etc.

Returning to the subject of weapons. Is there somewhere to go for a CFS3 weapons pack ?

I am still amazed at the quality of the cockpits and artwork available for the sim which must rank with the new stuff in anything available now even comparable to Wings of Prey etc etc. Given the age of the game and the limitations you still manage to bring it all to life in eye watering detail with some great aircraft not available in any other format I know.

I hope to have some play time soon to fly all these great planes again.

All the best

Brainless

grizzly50
January 19th, 2011, 10:29
Hi guys

Just dropped by to say hello again. I haven’t been around for some considerable time due to so many RL commitments and no play time!!