PDA

View Full Version : Hello and looking for a little help with a CFS3 project, a "C-47 Gunship"

TerryJames312
January 15th, 2011, 21:34
I'm new here and had an idea about creating a "C-47 Spook", the original incarnation of the (still in use today) Spectre gunship. A rudimentary version was built from a C-47 just as WWII ended but by the time Korea came around the C-47 spook came in to it's own with an assortment or armament like a boffors mount, a recoilless gun and a couple gatling guns... all sticking out of the left side of the aircraft... it would orbit overhead of a target raining down death from above and became to this day one of the most feared weapons in our "arsenal of democracy." Today's Spectre gunship is a C-130 but the original variant was a C-47 nicknamed a Spook.

I could probably muddle my way around and mickey mouse something close but I'm sure there are plenty of people out there who could build one in an evening. I am very new to CFS3 and a can make little mods to the craft but I think actual strucural mods are beyond me (for now.)

Is there anyone out there who could give a hand and school me?

Thanks much - TerryJames312

hairyspin
January 16th, 2011, 07:23
...I'm sure there are plenty of people out there who could build one in an evening...

You're kidding. Unless you have the source files for an existing C-47 model, a month of evenings will not even get close. :isadizzy:

If you want to look at modelling, try Milton's excellent tutorial series at the sticky New links for old above, but you're going to have to get to grips with gmax first before building anything.

Mathias
January 16th, 2011, 09:21
Wonder why nobody of the CFS3 devs ever jumped on the FSX SDK DC-3.
It's one or two evenings of work to convert it to CFS3.

hairyspin
January 16th, 2011, 11:02
It's been done, but never released publicly: don't know why.

Milton Shupe
January 16th, 2011, 16:12
Wonder why nobody of the CFS3 devs ever jumped on the FSX SDK DC-3.