PDA

View Full Version : going to fly jumbo for the first time

war.ace
November 29th, 2008, 17:13
I'm going to fly the secret shuttle mission and it's my first time to fly a jumbo jet. I already know the landing's going to be pretty bad since I have some trouble with approaches and night time navigation.

wish me luck,
war.ace

jmig
November 29th, 2008, 18:39
I'm going to fly the secret shuttle mission and it's my first time to fly a jumbo jet. I already know the landing's going to be pretty bad since I have some trouble with approaches and night time navigation.

wish me luck,
war.ace

:costumes: Where and when? I want to make sure I am not around.

Good luck!
:)

txnetcop
November 30th, 2008, 01:06
Yep good luck war.ace that is a lot of plane. We have a real 747 pilot (Fliger 747) in the forum who just might join in here and give ya tips.
Ted

fliger747
November 30th, 2008, 12:43
Howdy:

In actuality the whale is fairly easy to land once you satisfy several parameters. The most important issue is knowing your weight, from which you can calculate your approach speed. The real plane is quite stable and can be flown within a knot or two of the desired Vref speed. Yes there are autothrottles but it is actually easier to hand fly without them.

Max landing weight for the 400 is 302,093 KG (about 665,000 lbs). At this weight your approach speed will be 159 knots with full (30 deg) flaps. Empty with min fuel, 125 knots might work! At least try to fly an ILS, if only to get a good three degree descent profile established. We have a radar altimeter making audible callouts, at 50 feet pitch the nose up smoothly 2 degrees, at 30 feet reduce the thrust to idle and hold the attitude. if it doesn't land in a couple of seconds RELAX the yoke a little. After touchdown hit the spoiler {/} key and reverse the engines, going to idle again by 60 knots. Brake as necessary!