PDA

View Full Version : Rudder pedals.

JohnReid
November 28th, 2008, 08:51
Rudder pedals.
Hi guys! I am an old pilot by profession(68)but most of my flying today
is done on flight sims.I use a joystick now with no rudder pedals.I never quite got used to flying without the pedals and I was wondering if you guys could give me some advise.
My local computer shop is selling the Saitek USB pro flight rudder pedals and yoke system for about 33% off regular price.I would especially be interested in the views of other pilots as to their experience with the system.Is it worth buying for the enhanced flying experience or is it just a waste of money? Also ,are the stick and the yoke interchangeable? Thanks.
Cheers! John.

Francois
November 28th, 2008, 09:31
Hi John,

I'm not a (ex)professional pilot, but do get my hours at the yoke almost every year...... and I'm in flightsimming for over 30 years already: I'd say it is definitely worth getting the yoke and pedals if you're serious about simming.

I have the Saitek pedals, which I think are nicer than the old CH Product ones. I use the old CH Products yoke (and have the brand new model laying on my desk as we speak), but the Saitek feels nice too (tried it on two occasions).

And yes, you can interchange the various (USB) hardware such as yokes, joysticks (I use the Saitek X52 HOTAS as well). You may need to unplug them so they don't interfere, but it is plug-and-play.

If you don't have it yet, I'd get the 'payware' FSUIPC program which is better in calibrating and assigning functions than the default MS or Saitek programs.

Pepere
November 28th, 2008, 09:33
The Saitek USB pro flight rudder pedals are the best for the money. It's what I use. For a yoke I have this: It's a home made yoke. Love it!

IanP
November 28th, 2008, 09:54