PDA

View Full Version : GF480GTX versus Radeon 5970

Javis
November 11th, 2010, 17:54
Hey guys,

I have this brandnew Alienware Area51 ALX. Something wrong with either memory or vid card or both ( BSOD's all the time whenever playing FSX or any other graphically demanding program). Tried to solve this without success so far. Now Dell will send me a new video card and memory to replace the current. Current vid card is GF480GTX but not in stock at the moment. If i like they will send me a ATI Radeon 5970 instead.

What would *you* guys go for ??......

( i have no experience with Radeon vid cards at all. Always used nVidia to great satisfaction )

Go with the Radeon 5970 or wait for the GF480GTX, that's the question....

(in between BSOD's FSX looks and performs tremendously excellent with the 480GTX... :cool: )

I don't mind waiting a few days more for the 480GTX but the Radeon 5970 *does* get nice reviews too.

Any advice will be highly appreciated ! :salute:

Cheers,
Jan

Smokey Joe
November 11th, 2010, 18:34
I don't like to get into these video card discussions because they usual devolve into flame wars. I will only say that I have a Radeon 4870 HD and I have been very happy with it. It looks good and I have had no CTD's or BSOD's. My CPU is a Q6600.

rohan
November 11th, 2010, 19:50
Jan,
the only comment I will make begs an answer to the question of what you will use the card for most of the time. If the answer is FSX, then you should be aware that many folks (some of whom are quite well respected) say there is little to no advantage to using multiple GPUs (and the 5970 is a twin GPU card, in case you weren't aware). In fact, it has been said that twin GPUs have an adverse effect on FSX. As a result, I just bought an HD5870 instead of my planned 5970 for that very reason.