PDA

View Full Version : Looking for help with dogfights

CaptainCernick
September 4th, 2010, 17:10
Hi,

Il-2 has been a long time project for me, and I never got to enjoy it to the fullest. The main reason for this because I never really got the hang of dogfighting. The AI always finds a way to beat me. As I would really like to fly some offline campaigns, and perhaps sometime try my hand at online dogfighting, I started training myself more thoroughly in the QMB. I chose the P-40 as my first platform because it's supposed to be easy to fly, a stable gunplatform and it's in one of the first campaigns I want to try ('White sun, blue sky' by Chris Blair).
My training plan is to work my way up through my probable Japanese adversaries from the 'Nate' to the 'Zero' in all skill levels (rookie to ace). Right now, after considerable time reading and flying, I am still at square one: fighting rookie Ki-27's. I am no longer dying to seemingly random stalls and spins, but I still seem unable to defeat this inferior opponent in an acceptable time.
This is where you, the more experienced Il-2 dogfighter, come in. I have posted a video of my latest training dogfight on youtube. If you have 10 minutes to spare and would like to help out an Il-2 newbie, I would appreciate it a lot if you watched this and gave me some pointers. I can also mail you the track file if you prefer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkRYhHwRgpM

Thanks,

Jef

Whitehawk
September 4th, 2010, 20:02
Hi Jef watching your vid and typing as I go through it, you seem to spend a lot of time flying away from the AI, against a faster opponent that will get you flamed quicker than anything.. Your main goal should be to get on his six i.e. right behind him and close, you missed a great opportunity at 1:25 if you had rolled right and turned hard you could have gotten inside his turn (which was at that point quite gentle) and placed yourself nicely behind him.