PDA

View Full Version : Technique for simulating a collimated HUD: can it be made public?

dswo
August 30th, 2010, 16:03
This question comes out of the Razbam A-7 thread. See http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforums/showthread.php?t=41219&p=470934&viewfull=1#post470934 for a description of the situation, followed by comments and suggestions.

To my knowledge, there are at least six products now with collimated HUDs or gunsights. Is the technique for this licensed from someone? If it is, there's nothing more to say. But if it's not, is there someone who would be willing to describe the basic elements? Obviously, this would help Razbam with their next product, but it might help freeware modelers too.

In case anyone's wondering, I'm not a developer or a modeler of anything. I'm not connected with Razbam either, except in the ordinary way of liking their A-7.

Bjoern
August 30th, 2010, 17:25
Well Lotus' landing light technique got public due to Bill Leaming's involvement in a "How the heck were they done?" thread over at FFDS. As everyone who does at least a bit of FSX aircraft/scenery modeling knows, Bill L is one of the, if not *the* saviour for devs stuck in the "This doesn't work!!!!!" corner.
So due the presence of N4gix in aforementioned thread Jon Blum of VRS, at that time one of two devs actively using and incorporating the landing light splash technique, posted a how-to in that thread as kind of a "thank you" for Bill's ever so helpful tips and solutions. And just like that the FS world got access to a great feature.

Long story short, if you want to know how a certain cool feature got into FSX, talk about it and wait for Mr Leaming to join the discussion. Chances are that the developer will chime in with a "how to". :icon_lol:

(I'm not a 100% serious, but this is what half a beer, a cold, medicine and tiredness does to ones brain. :d)