PDA

View Full Version : RN carrier trainers?

vora
June 14th, 2010, 05:04
Just a question since I couldn't find anything on the net:
Did the Royal Navy have dedicated jet training aircraft for their CVs like the Ark Royal (R09)?
That carrier had the Scimitar and Sea Vixen, later the Phantom and Bucchaneer on board.
I just couldn't find any trainers like the Goshawk or the Zephyr. So how did the FAA jet jockeys learn to land on the carriers?

Thx,
Volker

An-225
June 14th, 2010, 05:21
I am by no means an expert on FAA equipment or history, but I was under the assumption that the Royal Navy used a Hawker Hunter T8 for training purposes?

peter12213
June 14th, 2010, 06:52
Yeah we used the 2 seater Hunter then when you were qualified and passed a lot of exams that was it, pat on the back and your on your own for your first catapult assisted takeoff and arrested landing!

SkippyBing
June 14th, 2010, 08:32
Yeah, the RN never had a jet trainer for carrier landings, I'm not sure they ever had a prop one either. Nor did they have twin stick versions of their jets so basically after a few practices ashore (possibly using the catapult at Boscombe Down until it was too weak to do the job on the later jets) and then away you go. The T.8 Harrier didn't actually get used for deck landing training either so generally pilots first Sea Harrier landing at sea was also solo.

vora
June 14th, 2010, 10:57
Thanks for the answers. That explains the lack of info...

Tough school :salute:

Thanks,
Volker
(patiently waiting for the Bucchaneer and Etendart) ;)

spatialpro
June 14th, 2010, 11:45
A mere 30 Rolls-Royce Merlin-powered Boulton-Paul Sea Balliol T21 (a terrestrial Balliol with folding wings and a tail hook added, logically enough!) were used during the 1950s for deck landing training. Come the '60s I believe the jets started getting really fast and the T21 was of less utility.