PDA

View Full Version : Basic computer queries

PeteHam
May 20th, 2010, 16:10
Hi Folks,

Just a couple of basic queries ....

#1 Is it better to leave a computer switched 24/7 or switch it off each night and restart it in the morning?

Is there any benefit leaving it on ( minimising startup wear vs extra power usage )

#2 I've got a Vista OS , but as it was installed on the computer when I purchased it I have no back up disc. Somewhere on the computer are the main Vista OS files which I'd like to copy onto an external HD for safe keeping incase I need to reinstall it.

On start up there used to be a popup screen with the info on it but a computer tech removed this.

Where would I find them ?

Thanks for your help.

Pete.

tigisfat
May 20th, 2010, 16:17
I'm no computer expert, but I've heard from many to leave your computer on. This isn't always feasible though. You'd be shocked at the power consumption of a really high end computer.

PRB
May 20th, 2010, 16:25
BASIC computer query...? Computer humor! :d

I've always heard that it's better to leave it on, for the reasons you stated. It may be, but I don't think the extra wear and tear on the power supply and other moving parts is significant. I've turned off my five year old computer every night since I've had it. Still going strong.

brad kaste
May 20th, 2010, 16:28
....A friend of my who's extremely computer savvy,...from servicing them to building them for others,...says it really doesn't make a difference. He does turn his own off at the end of the day.

jhefner
May 20th, 2010, 16:41
Turn it on and off regularly, and supposively the thermal cycles can age or loosen parts on the circuit board.

Leave it on all the time, and you can wear out the bearings and other moving parts in the hard drives and power supply.