PDA

View Full Version : OK, So NOW I'm a happy camper

warchild
May 11th, 2010, 03:31
I used RW tools to convert the original texture files to dds and to send them to the editor (one at a time ) then after the edit and upon saving, i used RW Tools once again to convert the dds files into railworks format. I did the same procedure for the numbersm which are located one directory higher in system/textures.

I then copied in the sounds from the britkits GP9 which proved to provide a more realistic sound if not quit accurate.

Once those were finished, i used RW tools again to edit the trains physics and increased the dry and wet rail friction each by a tenth of a point ( 0.1).. This provided me with what appears to be near prototypical speeds, but i'm no expert.. At the moment, two DD-40s will pull 50 heavy cars ( as opposed to produce and light weight cars ) at 83 mph up a 0.5% slope.

Yup, i'm a happy camper.. Just too bad what happened to rock island lines, but thats another story.. :)
Enjoy :)..

http://i88.photobucket.com/albums/k171/urushira/railworks/Screenshot_DD-40A_Final.jpg

txnetcop
May 11th, 2010, 04:18
Very very impressive Pam!!! Lionheart was right...the birthing of a possible developer out of frustration and necessity. Great job
Ted

warchild
May 11th, 2010, 14:29
Thanks Ted :)..