PDA

View Full Version : Discovery just flew overhead ...

Snuffy
April 20th, 2010, 05:01
On their way home!

Matt Wynn
April 20th, 2010, 05:05
watching it on NASA TV Currently :salute:

Snuffy
April 20th, 2010, 05:07
watching it on NASA TV Currently :salute:

Me too ... but had to watch it streak across the sky and felt the sonic booms a few minutes ago!

Thrilling!

Matt Wynn
April 20th, 2010, 05:09
oh it really is thrilling, that double boom really gets the hairs on my arms standing on end... but that might just be because i'm a soldier and associate with other noises... but what a sight! welcome back Discovery :salute:

WOOOOHOOOOO! WELCOME BACK DISCOVERY! great landing chute cut and stopped, cooldown time now...

txnetcop
April 20th, 2010, 05:13
Yep me too!
Ted
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

brad kaste
April 20th, 2010, 06:57
....Only three more space shuttle flights left......

Wiens
April 20th, 2010, 07:22
Would that explain a loud boom over central Kansas this morning around 8 am?

Kevin

boxcar
April 20th, 2010, 07:42

It would at that. :) She crossed the southwestern Nebraska panhandle & central Kansas on her way back down. It was magnificent.

Snuffy
April 20th, 2010, 07:43

Kevin

It might could ... Discovery flew over head here in FLA a little after 9 ... I think we have about an hour's difference between us don't we time zone wise?

boxcar
April 20th, 2010, 08:14
Flight path (second one down) along with a cool, night reentry video clip:

http://thunderpigblog.blogspot.com/2010/04/discovery-re-entry-path-over-wnc.html (http://thunderpigblog.blogspot.com/2010/04/discovery-re-entry-path-over-wnc.html)

Toastmaker
April 20th, 2010, 08:23
I watched Discovery make a grease job landing in Florida this morning and reminded myself of the kind of country that could make such a vehicle and misson happen.