PDA

View Full Version : A Question on the Battle

Autothrottle
April 10th, 2010, 21:45
Hello all,

I've just recently downloaded one of Nigel's superb Fairey Battles. The standard armament was I think a single, forward firing Browning .303 and a Vickers light machine Gun in the rear.

Why was this type of armament allowed on the Battle in the first place? I studied a thread about it online and wondered, why was this allowed to be installed on each aircraft that came off of the assembly lines? Some 2,400 thereabout (I could be mistaken)

Smaller fighters like the Hurricane MkII, and the Spitfire MkV were equipped with lethal cannons. I ask Nigel or anyone else here to shed some light as to why the battle, wasn't really prepared for battle?

Led Zeppelin
April 11th, 2010, 00:02
Another question for the Battle: AI explodes at take off and personnaly, I use to damage the tail wheel despite my efforts (same with Spit MkV and Fokker DXXI).

Does anybody know how to modify contact points section in the aircraft.cfg? I suspect this comes from it. I've tried but failed.

thanks.

ndicki
April 11th, 2010, 00:09
Actually, the Hurricane and Spitfire were not fitted with cannon until well after the Battle's withdrawal from front-line service. Other than a handful of relatively unsuccessful Spitfires MkIb trialled during the Battle of Britain, and a single prototype Hurricane fitted with two Hispano cannon, the RAF did not test or deploy cannon-armed aircraft until well into 1941.

The Battle was a light bomber, designed at a time when most fighters were biplanes fitted with two rifle-calibre machine guns. The exception was the Gloster Gladiator, which had four. It is worth remembering that later American monoplane fighters such as the Curtiss Hawk or early Wildcat were not exactly heavily armed either. In this light, the Battle doesn't appear to be so poorly armed after all. It is after all a light bomber, not a ground-attack aircraft.