PDA

View Full Version : WW2 airfield objects question

gypsymoth
April 7th, 2010, 06:52
I'm attempting to build a WW2 airfield (Ibsely & local to me) for FS9 & am having great difficulty in getting ojects to place using Instant Scenery. I do have some Ted Andrews objects but I'm wondering if I can use things from CFS, eg, in FS9. Failing that, is there a good site to get WW2 stuff from?
Thanks.

Pat Pattle
April 7th, 2010, 07:10
I'm attempting to build a WW2 airfield (Ibsely & local to me) for FS9 & am having great difficulty in getting ojects to place using Instant Scenery. I do have some Ted Andrews objects but I'm wondering if I can use things from CFS, eg, in FS9. Failing that, is there a good site to get WW2 stuff from?
Thanks.

I think you can use some CFS2 scenery in FS9 but I'm no expert so could be wrong. There are 3rd part airfield objects available is FS9 as you know.

CFS3 is not compatible at all I'm afraid. However if you can convert any of the gmax source models that I have made for CFS3 your'e welcome to them, what are you after exactly?

Or...why not make a CFS3/ETO version?? :) The location etc is probably already in the ETO, all you'd need to make are a new ground texture and facility file. AND you can take off in formation and go and have a crack at Harry Hun!

Pat :)

gypsymoth
April 7th, 2010, 07:26
Thanks. I'll check CF2 but what's ETO?
I'm new at trying to make an airfield & although I want some airfield objects, hangars, buildings, etc, my biggest problem right now is a decent grass texture to base the whole thing on.
I have Mk1 Spits & Hurricanes, P51 & 38, Dakota, etc but the grass is proving a real problem......

flashgordon
April 7th, 2010, 12:18
gypsymoth
In CFS3 you need to grab a screen shot of the exact location. You can then use this to grab a section that represents the locality so that the base blends into the surroundings. You can use layers and change the transparency of each.