PDA

View Full Version : RAF Rattlesden - USAAF Station 126

FAC257
March 31st, 2010, 19:09
I just put the finishing touches on RAF Rattlesden - USAAF Station 126, home of the 447th Bomb Group.

I've never done an airport before and was originally going to start my learning experience on the little one runway, one building airport just south of me. Instead it turned into wanting a proper airfield to fly from in the new A2A B-17G, <!--mstheme-->"Scheherazade".

I'll try to get it up tomorrow afternoon. It's a little late, and my head hurts from worrying if I got everything right. :)

FAC257<!--mstheme--><!--mstheme-->

falcon409
March 31st, 2010, 19:11
Very nice. . .I especially like the way you fit the Airport Boundary layer in with the surrounding area. . .really matches nicely. Well Done!!:salute:

FAC257
March 31st, 2010, 19:22
Thanks Falcon!

That was one of the things I spent the most time on. Since I don't really understand working with airport backgrounds yet, it was the best way I could think of to camoflage my lack of experience. :)

FAC257

Snuffy
March 31st, 2010, 19:31
Looks good Forrest ... :)

Where'd ya get your ordinance stores, and other building objects?

FAC257
March 31st, 2010, 19:50
Snuffy

Other than the default FSX trucks, all of the building objects come from the WWII Object Libraries by IanP and Ted Andrews. You'll need to down load and install those also, if you don't already have them from another WWII airbase scenery.

FAC257

GypsyBaron
March 31st, 2010, 23:18
Very nice. . .I especially like the way you fit the Airport Boundary layer in with the surrounding area. . .really matches nicely. Well Done!!:salute:

Yes, and that is really a time consuming task. I had some experience doing that for my Tokol scenery
and it is a challenge!

I'm looking forward to this addition as a base for my B-17 missions to Germany :)

Paul

FAC257
April 2nd, 2010, 16:21