PDA

View Full Version : questions for Epic pilots

pilottj
February 26th, 2010, 08:05
Hey folks,
I picked up Bill's wonderful Epic yesterday. I am having a great time flying it tho I could use some advice on how to master the PT-6 :) I figured I needed a good plane to learn turboprops before Realair gets their Turbo Duke out.

What is a typical taxi proceedure for a powerful turboprop like the Epic? If I try to taxi it like a piston it likes to lurch foward even if I am smooth on the power. What approx power settings do you use with power, prop, condition levers?

Then after takeoff, I am curious about power settings as well. I am interested in recommended climb power settings as well as typical max cruise settings and economy cruise settings :)

Cheers
TJ

clmooring
February 26th, 2010, 16:38
I am not an expert, but you need to set the condition lever very low. If you set it too low the engine will shut down. Set the lever just shy of shutting the engine down.

pilottj
February 26th, 2010, 23:01
lol yeah ive been practicing I think I have got it under control, having a condition lever set to idle seems to help as well having prop lever back a little. I am still unsure of general cruise settings but I managed to fly it from California to Hawaii with a headwind. That little bird sure has some long legs with the optional long range tanks configured. I noticed it can go into beta(reverse) mode while in the air, I thought only the PC-6 had that capability but its quite nice, lets you decend really steep and slow. I have been looking for the plane that could get in and out under 2000' of runway while being able to stretch 2000 miles. I belive the PC-12 can but I think the Elite looks better :) Tho think will need the optional potty installed for those long trips LOL

Cheers
TJ

Lionheart
February 26th, 2010, 23:31
Hey TJ,

Yep, the condition lever is important.