PDA

View Full Version : Help me buy a new computer, Please

10lrrp
January 26th, 2010, 14:03
My 9 year old Ailenware fx-56 is getting old
i have a $2500 budget

must be an off the shelf computer
FSX is the reason for the computer so i want to buy the most frames and best scenery machine.

buget does not include a monitor

Thanks Andy

djscoo
January 26th, 2010, 15:27
Are you 1000% positive you don't want to build it yourself?

harleyman
January 26th, 2010, 15:58
Long Island I see... welcome to SOH....

Why Off The Shelf?

I can build a great FSX machine for way less than that...

I ship across the USA coast to coast..

I'm in North Carolina and you are in NY I see.

Thats what i do for a living....

If intrested contact me here or my E-mail in my account.

Off the shelf will typically have a weaker PSU Slower MoBo and Ram and a lower end Graphics card also (as in a 128 bit ) that looks good on paper but is not.

Plus mine will blow the doors of that Alienware/Dell by product....

scoutII
January 26th, 2010, 16:35
I agree TOTALLY with Harleyman - Built mine for $2200 -/monitor and all the parts end in the word EXTREME !! I'm just starting to push the O.C. 4.0G envelope - Up to 4.2 now and no problems.
He has written past posts for some nice set-ups that will run FSX nice and still have some $ching$ in the pocket.

N2056
January 26th, 2010, 16:51
I am a big fan of Harleyman's talent. While he did not build my rig (I have that ability), he did help me with buying parts that would play well together in FSX. He's got skills :ernae:
At the time of the build the parts totaled around $600 with shipping. Several months later I am still very happy with my rig.

jmig
January 26th, 2010, 17:16
Harley, helped me OC my computer. It now screams.

Pssss *whispers in 10lrrp's ear* If you neogiate with him, I bet you can talk him to overclocking your new rig as part of the sale. Don't tell him I told you, though.

Seaking055
January 26th, 2010, 17:24