PDA

View Full Version : PDA's and Apple iPod Touch

Lionheart
November 3rd, 2008, 08:07
Hey guys,

As some of you know, I am a tech freak. I dont know much about computers, but love to keep up with as much as I can.

I have been wanting to get a new PDA. I have had my Jornada 560 for years and its getting worn out. My eyes kept falling back on the Apple iPod Touch. I would go in and look at them in the stores, but never found one that was running. (Should have gone to an Apple store). Anyways, I did it... I picked up a iPod 16G Touch at Wallyworld and man, I am freaking impressed....

The software system or OS that it has is amazing. I can see now what MS was going after with vista. The eye candy is dazzling in the iPod. The animations are all throughout and make the thing incredibly awesome to interact with. Everything works on touches, no glitches (for me anyways) occur in mixups of commands. There is a single builtin keyboard touch system (screen based) that actually works really well, even with fingertips. (Fingers seem to be the only thing that mine accepts. A stylus didnt seem to do anything).

The base unit has a cool Notes program, weather, world time clock, timer, lap stopwatch, stocks, can check and ansere my emails, navigate the web like SOH, contacts list from a web based source, Google Earth, calculator, etc, etc, etc.... lololol... FREAKING Amazing!

The unit has WiFi, so that is how it can act like a laptop. If you are around a carrier that isnt locked, bing... You can check everything. I can only imagine with the iPhone is like, though I wouldnt want the phone bill and expense of the services... I mainly wanted a PDA that had notes and some other tools that I use for business.. I never dreamed it could do this much.