PDA

View Full Version : Stealthiness of the F-35 Lighting II...

Dino Cattaneo
January 13th, 2010, 23:59
Hi, all. I just wanted to share with you the latest images of my new project, the F-35 Lighting II.

This will be my first payware project ever - but I'm confident that you will find the price very resonable.

A brief history of the project:
I've been tinkering with an FSX version of the F-35 for a couple of years... but never come up with anything good enough, mainly due to the absence of accurate drawings and sections. Then I decided to acquire the excellent 3D mesh by Camelot Inc. - which is on sale on several modeling sites - hoping that I could use that for my project. The mesh wasn't cheap so I decided it would have been a payware project.

Unfortunately, my first "venture" into acquiring commercial 3D meshes was not completely positive. The data from Camelot Inc. is far too complex for being used proficiently in FSX so I had to redo all the 3D model - which took much more time than I expected as the shape of this machine is pretty complex... I also had a hard time in making the textures (and getting them to look "right") and a resonable flight model.

So here we are. The project its currently starting is Beta stage. For now, it will depict the CTOL version of the Lighting II, that is F-35A. Main features will be:

- 3 accurate external models: AA-1 (first prototype), AF-1 (weight optimized test plane) and a "production" F-35A (based on the latest information).

- Accurate virtual cockpit (based on the information and pictures publicly available at present). NOTE: the functionality of the multifunction display will be much simplified (i.e. will have some "touch screen" functionality but you will not be able to change/resize/swap its windows)

- "Reasonable" flight model (for obvious resons it will be built on a lot of guessing)

F-35B and F-35C are being left out (at least from the initial release) due to time constraints.