PDA

View Full Version : (FSX) Adding items to existing airport question

DB93
December 7th, 2009, 19:35
Hi all,

I've got a question about adding objects to an existing FSX airport, specifically taxiways and aprons. Is it possible to create a new .bgl file that contains *just* the new objects, so that it would overlay over the existing airport, or do taxiways and aprons have to been in the same .bgl as the airport they belong to? For example, let's say I want to add an apron to an airport. Do I have to edit the existing airport to add the apron, or can I create a new .bgl that contains just the apron at the proper coordinates that will work in addition to the existing airport?

Thanks for any help on this, I'm new to airport editing and need to know if this is even possible before trying to figuring out how it would be done. :P

NoNewMessages
December 8th, 2009, 08:39
Working on that DX10 thingy, huh!

I haven't tried what I'm going to try and explain, so take it for what it's worth.

Most every "AFCAD" type file contains certain data, such as name, location, ICAO identifier, blah, blah. It also will almost always contain statements that instruct FSX to delete what has already been read and placed, the general concept being DELETE the old and ADD the new. It is these delete statements that *might* allow you to simply add an apron area or a taxiway to any airport without deleting what is already there.