PDA

View Full Version : Saitek Cyborg X

aeromed202
November 23rd, 2009, 15:06
I'm going to need a new stick soon and have been happy with the Logitec Extreme 3D Pros. But on the shelf this time was also a Saitek Cyborg for about the same price. I liked the L/R throttles and roller switches you could use for trim but don't know anything about the brand except it pops up on SOH now and again. I would buy another Pro in a heartbeat but am considering the other. Any advice? I got my umbrella up for the deluge.

Tom Clayton
November 23rd, 2009, 16:32
I prefer the feel of Saitek over Logitech. The centering spring on the Saitek's are a lot gentler but still do their job without making you feel like you've been lifting weights with your right arm.

OBIO
November 23rd, 2009, 16:37
I haven't used the Cyborg X, but I think that will be my next stick! I have a Saitek ST290 Pro that I have been abusing for the last 3 years or so...and I mean ABUSING...it has been a problem free stick with one exception. A while back the trigger button stopped working...so I pulled the stick apart and found that one of the pins that holds the little switch in place had broken...no big deal...a few drops of super glue and it was like new again. I have pulled that trigger button a zillion trillion times in CFS2...and sometimes I pulled it WAY TOO HARD during those really entense furball dog fights.

The stick has had no issues with centering...the way the spring is on the Saitek sticks..centering issues don't happen all that often.

The stick is comfortable, the twist/rudder input is responsive. I wish it had more buttons (6) but the Cyborg X seems to have that covered well enough.

And it looks like it has an adjuster on the centering spring allowing you to dial in more resistance on the stick....I like that idea a lot. Sometimes I feel as though my stick is simply too easy to move and would like a stiffer action.