PDA

View Full Version : Applying Thermal Paste?

dvslats
September 30th, 2009, 17:08
Anyone have a how to on this? Looking over the internet it seems like there is a thousand and one different ways. :isadizzy:
On my last attemp, I still cannot get both cores of a dual core proccessor to be within the same range. For example...one core always shows a temperature of about 15 degrees higher then the other.
The CPU is a E6850 3.0 ghz, with a ZALMAN CNPS8700 after market fan/cooler.
When my nephew did this for me a year ago for an older CPU, he had the cores within 2 to 3 degree difference. But now he's off to college and I gotta learn this. :icon_lol:
Thanks In Advance, Dave

Spilot69
October 1st, 2009, 05:05
I'm no expert but this is how I do it.
1. clean the cpu chip off real good take off all the old paste and the heatsink too.
2. apply the thermal past in a line but not a lot, just a good dab.
3. take zip-lock small bag and and turn it inside-out and put your finger in it and make sure its fit tightly around your finger.
4. spread the paste around using your finger smoothly and make sure all parts are covered and evenly.
5. put heatsink on and your good to go! :gameon:

Moparmike
October 1st, 2009, 05:26
The thinner the better. Just need to fill the voids in your CPU die and heatsink mating surface right over the core of the chip...any more than that and the efficiency drops off quickly.

Here's the method I use, straight from Arctic Silver's website:
http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_silver_instructions.htm

Ferry_vO
October 1st, 2009, 07:53
Clean off the CPU and the cooler first with a bit of alcohol, only apply a bit of thermal paste the size of a pin's head on the center of the processor. The pressure of the cooler will spread it out, no need to do that yourself.

:)

hey_moe
October 1st, 2009, 10:03