PDA

View Full Version : OT: rig for storm

Warrant
August 20th, 2009, 07:25
Gera; possible scenario for a new FSX adventure for the Low Lands

Actual situation: This afternoon i studied for a possible new function within the Dutch DoD. With an extra eye i keep watching the "buienradar" for the Netherlands (which is a precipitation radar display freely available on the internet, link for Europe and US below in my signature).

Yesterday a weather alert was issued for the Netherlands. A cold front is approaching from the West, while a warm front (originating from Africa through Spain and France) is present here at current time, ready to collide over our countryside. The windspeeds are increasing, and a radical/sudden temperature drop of at least 10 degrees celcius is predicted (a larger drop of at least 15 is currently on broadcast as well).

All ingredients for a severe storm are present as cumulus nimbus clouds are developing all over. Perhaps we are to witness a few funnel clouds (or land spouts if you will), perhaps worse. At least severe thunderstorms with hail and severe gusts (110 kmh) are included in the weather alert.

Reason enough to rig my stuff outside for storm......

My amateur meteorological heart is pumping :ernae::jump::monkies:

Edit: link for WX rdr NLD: http://www.buienradar.nl/home.aspx?r=vakantie&jaar=-3&soort=loop1uur

Bone
August 20th, 2009, 08:28
Just another day made for a liverwurst sandwich at an Amstel pub.

jankees
August 20th, 2009, 08:29
thunder just started here, bring it on!

Warrant
August 20th, 2009, 08:43
A nice CB is developing from the west, visible from my window in East Brabant

gera
August 20th, 2009, 08:48