PDA

View Full Version : Making AI boat plans

dswo
July 11th, 2009, 09:40
This came to me as a private message:

I'm a novice at using the boat compiler - and pretty much anything AI generated.

I'm just trying to figure out how to set a route for one of Javier's Nimitz or Ike carriers based on time departing a certain point and heading on a path - i assume it is based on lat/long, and i do have google earth installed. Unfortunately for me it's just not that obvious. If you have any advice to offer, or direction if it does not take much of your time, i would certainly appreciate it.

I'm working with your Oahu carrier bgl now.

Thanks and know that I appreciate any assistance.
I'm going to start a thread on this in the public forum; that way whatever we learn together will become public knowledge, and hopefully we'll get several people making boat plans.

1. What you need:

a. Google Earth
b. Lamont Clark's AI Boat Traffic Compiler (AIBTC), which you can download here: http://lc0277.nerim.net/boat/aibtc02.zip, with instructions here: http://lc0277.nerim.net/boat/

You need to STUDY Clark's instructions. It took me several read-throughs, and several experiments before I got my first working BGL.

2. Draw a PATH using Google Earth. Start where you want to start! How do you draw a path? Look for the icon near the top that has three little boxes and a plus sign. When you have it like you want it, give the path a NUMERICAL name (like 1942). This may well be different from the FILE name (e.g., RoutesOahu.kmz) that you save it under. I missed this part when I was reading the documentation, and it took me awhile to get it straight. Not sure what I'm talking about? Play with it. Not sure about the difference between PATH names and FILE names? Look at my KML file (part of the attachment) and see: there should be two paths in that file, 1941 and 1942.

Private messager: I think this is the step you need to do next.