PDA

View Full Version : A guide to constructive critisism.

Gibbage
June 29th, 2009, 19:13
From time to time, 3rd party developers can and often will post works in progress (Hence forth, known as *WIP*) at their leisure. This serves two purposes.

#1, advertisement. It’s no secret that we use it to advertise our products. We depend greatly on this community for sales. Without it, 3rd party developers would simply dry up.

#2, feedback. This should be #1, as it truly is the most important reason why we post WIP's. We need feedback from you, the customer. As an artist, I can stare at an aircraft model for many months at a time, and still miss something as obvious as the control stick in the cockpit! That’s why we need your support to note errors.

The biggest problem most people have is how to approach a possible error when they find it without somehow upsetting the artist or developer working on the model. That is where this guide comes in.

1. First, read what the developer is posting when he post's screen shots. A lot of times he will note things that are not yet done or finished.

2. If you feel that you found an error, please research first. Find a photo or some type of reference that shows how you feel it should be.

Example. On a recent thread about the FSD/MilViz F-15, a user noted that a problem with the shape of the air brake, and attached photo's. This was fixed. No hurt feelings, and the customers get a better product. Simply saying that there is a problem helps nobody.

3. If you feel the quality of the model is not up to standard, please be specific. Comparing one product against another is not at all helpful or beneficial.

Example. On a recent thread about the FSD/MilViz F-15, users noted that the canopy frame was a little low polygon and segmented. This was noted by the developer and fixed.