PDA

View Full Version : My first WIP. Criticism? Yes Please!

JSpal
May 26th, 2009, 19:02
I'm a couple of days work into my first FSX add-on aircraft. I posted a couple of pics in another thread, but it's in a forum way down at the bottom of the index, so I'm not sure many people have seen it. I think it's coming along nicely, but I've never done one before, so I'd appreciate and advice, criticism, tips, tricks, etc.

This is what it looks like in the program I'm doing most of the modeling in.

http://i450.photobucket.com/albums/qq228/JamesISpalding/ch750T004.jpg
(Trike with tundra tires)

http://i450.photobucket.com/albums/qq228/JamesISpalding/ch750a001.jpg
(Trike with standard tires)

http://i450.photobucket.com/albums/qq228/JamesISpalding/ch750TT001.jpg
(Custom tail dragger model with tundra tires)

http://i450.photobucket.com/albums/qq228/JamesISpalding/ch750T005.jpg
(a peak inside the cockpit)

And what it looks like imported into Gmax.

http://i450.photobucket.com/albums/qq228/JamesISpalding/screencap001.jpg

Obviously I have a lot of details to work on still. At this point I plan to concentrate on getting one model done all the way and functional in FSX (probably the tundra trike) and then come back and maybe finish up the tail dragger and maybe a float or amphib model.

I have a few questions straight off.

1. My copy of GMAX (from my FSX Deluxe SDK) doesn't have the plug-ins to export to the format for FSX. Are those plug-ins available elsewhere? Milton Shupe said it would be on the FS2002 SDK, but I don't have that version of FS. Do I have to hunt it down and buy it or has MS released the plug-ins elsewhere? Is it possible to export from any other program (I have access to 3DStudio and a few others at my school).