PDA

View Full Version : Question re multiplayer-2 home computers

wsmwsm
October 13th, 2008, 17:29
I am a complete novice as to multiplayer, so bear with me.

I have two home computers which, I think, are part of the same "network". I would like to be able to play CFS2 such that a player on my "upstairs" computer can dogfight against a player on my "downstairs" computer.

Each computer has its own name and are part of the same workgroup. They have different IP addresses. CFS2 is installed both. I run Vista.

Can this be done? If so, how?

Again, I don't even know where to start or precisely what questions to ask.

Any help would be appreciated.

Good_2_Be
October 13th, 2008, 20:17
I Think you may have to do the same as in this post, but I'm not sure since I have never tried to play cfs2 on my home network.

http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforums/showthread.php?t=1385

Make sure your windows firewall is opened for cfs2 on both machines.

wsmwsm
October 14th, 2008, 03:49
How do I open the firewall? And how do I start things up?

Thanks.

simonu
October 14th, 2008, 12:32
LAN games have the ability to exchange model and texture data, this means you dont have to have the same planes installed on both ( it doesnt work across the internet) on each machine open the CFS2.cfg and locate the [MULTIPLAYER] settings find the following lines
ALLOW_PLANE_MODEL_SEND=0
ALLOW_PLANE_MODEL_RECEIVE=0
ALLOW_TEXTURE_SEND=0
ALLOW_TEXTURE_RECEIVE=0
and change the values to 1
start cfs2 on both machines and enter the multiplayer set up screen,
For protocol type select TCP IP
On the first machine click the "Host" button to get the host setup screen
here you can select the options for the game like start location, speed, height ect.
Make any ajustements here and press OK you will then go to the Ready room.
On the other machine you will need to enter the local IP of the machine that is hosting.