PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions

MWMTheArchitect
April 14th, 2009, 00:13
Hey everyone.

I'm new to CFS3. Well, at least the modding portion of it. I'm not a great pilot but I'm getting there.

So I've been scouring the forums tonight looking for what I should get for CFS3 and so far, I have these things downloading/downloaded:

ETO + patch
Korean Skies
PTO + Patches + Missions
jbsceneryV3

However, I don't know how to install jbsceneryV3. No read-me's came with the RAR's. I did get the water textures installed. I searched through all my CFS3 folders looking for where to extract the jbsceneryV3 RAR's at but no such luck. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Also, what else should I get in the way of mods/ad-ons? I saw some things about Medair or something like that, but the link didn't work, that or my internet was being slow because of so many downloads! Hah.

Anyway, thanks in advance for the help. Fantastic site you've got here, full of a lot of nice and helpful people too it seems from the other threads I've read.

Best wishes,

~ Architect

Daiwilletti
April 14th, 2009, 01:52
Hi Mwm,

for ETO at least, Johno's scenery is already incorporated into the addon. The main changes when adding scenery textures go into the Assets folder in your main install. So you can take a look at the .dds textures in ETO, compare them with other instals to see which you like best.

This explanation is a bit simplified but its a start.

HTH,
D

popsaka
April 14th, 2009, 01:56
Get MAW (at their own site) an' ya pretty much got it all...:ernae:

OH and BTW....:welcome:

popsaka
April 14th, 2009, 02:50
Cripes, I'm forgettin' Flanders Fields... 'acourse them lads has seen fit ta make it PAYWARE now... not that it ain't well worth it!!

There's also a Desert Storm beta somewhere's but modern jets tend ta over- S t r e t c h The ol' CFS3 envelope...:rapture:

hairyspin
April 14th, 2009, 12:11