PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking a Q6600 with stock cooling (safely...)

Dimus
March 5th, 2009, 05:01
I have been prowling the web the last few days and have seen several threads of people that have succesfully OC'd their Q6600 up to 3.2Ghz without changing anything other than the CPU fsb values in the BIOS. This sounded very encouraging to me as I would like very much to increase my rig's capability at no cost (i.e. keep the stock cooler and PSU) and with out messing with voltage settings.

Has anyone here tried something like this on a Q6600? I'd appreciate any comments as I've never tried it before. I intend to run tests to the rig at its current state (stock 2.4Ghz) and report back.

harleyman
March 5th, 2009, 05:16
I had a Q6600 GO version OCed to 3.42 all from the FSB...Yes it can be done...I had it done at a shop as I do not now know how to do it and am skert ...LOL

However I would not use a stock cooler...Get at least a Freezer Pro 7 from Newegg..They are not hard to change......

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835186134

You will need to get some Artic Silver paste also ... It comes with a pad on it , but its not the perfered way to do it....Won't last as long as it can get hard and loose its bond for disapeating heat..

Dimus
March 5th, 2009, 05:27
Thanks Harleyman,

My question was actually meant to ask how far I can go without having to open up the box. I happen to share the computer with my wife who does actual work on it while I only do simming. I can not be seen messing with it or::blind:.

Playing with the BIOS can go unnoticed.:d

If you guys think I can not do it safely with the stock cooler then I just won't. However, even a slight increase would be welcome.

kilo delta
March 5th, 2009, 05:32