PDA

View Full Version : VFR flight planning

Stefano Zibell
September 14th, 2017, 17:57
I am curious as to what you guys use to plan visual flights. I have zero experience with any external software in this regard. Only used a few sites like simbrief and onlineflightplanner for IFR, airline type flights.

The default flight planner won't show cities, rivers, powerlines, pretty much nothing. Setting waypoints via plotting coordinates is a PITA.

Maybe something that overlays actual charts or something...

Help me out.

Portia911
September 14th, 2017, 18:47
Review:
http://www.mutleyshangar.com/reviews/jack/plang/plang.htm

Product:
http://www.tasoftware.co.uk/

Willy
September 14th, 2017, 18:54
And oldie but a goodie on FS navigation.

http://www.navfltsm.addr.com/basic-nav-general.htm

I just use the default flight planner and try to use the NDBs to get me in the neighborhood. Occasionally, I'll get lost, but it's all part of the experience.

I've flown around the world a couple of times like this.

lownslo
September 14th, 2017, 19:32
Plan-G was my flight planner until Little NavMap came along. The more I use it the more I learn I can do with it! It also networks way easier than Plan-G. Now I use Little NavMap for all flight planning but prefer to print my plans from Plan-G. Also the developer of Little NavMap, Alex, is very much engaged with the community (has a forum at Avsim).

https://albar965.github.io/littlenavmap.html

Greg

warchild
September 14th, 2017, 20:04
it depends on where i'm going. If is in the US I follow the freeways because i know them so well, ad if its japan or the Philippines, i fly around the allusion's for japan, the west along japans coast till i reach okinawa wher i angle due south to manila..

Mike71
September 15th, 2017, 01:39
Go to https://skyvector.com/;