PDA

View Full Version : Joy stick center point detent?

PRB
August 5th, 2017, 03:43
I'm buying a new stick. Been meaning to for some time. I've been limping along with an old Logitech Extreme 3D Pro, and now it won't calibrate anymore and is stuck with a significant left roll input.

The only thing I really don't like about this stick is the center point has a "detent" that you can feel. Air plane stick don't go "thunk" when they're centered. Hate that. The question for those of you with relatively new joy sticks – does yours have a "detent" at the center point that you can feel? If not, what kind is it? I'm going to buy one!

SSI01
August 5th, 2017, 03:51
Following this one with interest as I have the identical stick.

Stickshaker
August 5th, 2017, 05:58
I have a Thrustmaster Warthog with the same annoying snag. I don’t know whether it is intentional, but I need so much force to move it from the center position that precise flying is harder than it should be. For the rest I can recommend the stick.

Bjoern
August 5th, 2017, 07:00
TM.16000M and yes, but I don't mind.

PhantomTweak
August 5th, 2017, 11:28
I have the Thrustmaster HOTAS X, stick only (no throttle unit). It has an adjustment knob on the bottom to adjust the tension required to move the stick. I have it adjusted to give me "feel" without any sort of center detent feeling. It moves off-center just as easily as any other motion. And the farther off-center, the more force required to move it. Maybe not "realistic" on the ground, but in flight it feels great.

Just my 2 pfennnig worth :)
Pat☺

PRB
August 5th, 2017, 11:47