PDA

View Full Version : C-119 WIP progress

Switchblade408
May 29th, 2017, 18:16
I remember following a thread on an upcoming Fairchild C-119 Flying Boxcar for FSX. I was wondering how far along that was, as the last I heard of the thread was in late April.

falcon409
May 29th, 2017, 18:36
I think this one is best left to Larry to explain. Hopefully he will see the question and answer soon.

Penzoil3
May 31st, 2017, 15:41
Me too. Can't even find that thread anymore. Want the Boxcar ! Followed that thread for a long time ! Firekitten?
Sue

blanston12
May 31st, 2017, 16:30
I work as a software developer and there is a phrase that is passed around some times. The first 90% of a project takes the first 90% of the time, the last 10% takes the other 90% of the time.

From my reading of that thread, it was a labor of love by the author. If it can't be perfect its not going to be released. I think we all have worked on something where our expectations of what is expected exceeds our ability to produce it or requires time we don't have. I can't say that's what happened here but I suspect so.

Could be something else of course. I remember working on something where things are going great and its getting close to release and hard disk failure! No backups, all was lost and I was so discouraged I could not pick it up again.

All I can say to Larry/Firekitten is don't get discouraged, even if you're stuck and feel you can't do any more, the community will love it, just as it is.

falcon409
May 31st, 2017, 17:27
Two things are holding this up:
1) Some remaining coding. . .(waiting for the coder to become available again)
2) Exterior textures. . . .(namely those promised by a very talented artist who has not produced what was expected).